Single You Out: Awaxx – Till The End (Produced By DJ Bless)


I’m back to support another part of the backbone of HHD, Never So Deep.  DJ Bless never disappoints with his production and that story continues with another dark banger.  Awaxx shows apt competency to rock the mic.  He doesn’t possess the best flow I have ever heard but certainly does justice to the track that we have in front of us.  I look forward to hear more before I pass judgement…

Single You Out: Sutter Kain – Shoot Her In The Face (ft. Rev Fang Gory and Insane Poetry)


Sutter Kain is on some “bodies hit the floor” type ish on this joint.  This is not for the faint of heart.  Fans of Sutter Kain will remember this sound from his album from three years ago, Black Sunday – Mask Of The Demon. The lyrics in this cut surpass hard, and tread  on the psychopathic which I will presume is the point.  The production is that Ghetto Metal flavor that has come to be associated with NSD Records.


Single You Out: Ancient Alienz – Angels Of Death (ft. Donnie Darko x Sutter Kain)


DJ Bless (Sutter Kain) has been talking about this project for a while and now we get our first sampling of what it’s going to be about.  And if we get a whole album of this type of music, then consider me all in.  This track starts out soulful and then the darkness sets in.   The piano and the vocal sample that Sutter Kain provides is just the right mood for these bars.  And speaking of bars,  Ancient Alienz can spit some!  Be on the lookout for their new project in the coming months.


McNastee – Xanax Dreams, Klonopin Nightmares (I’m Okay)(Video)

The Ghetto Metal thrust continues with this video release from McNastee’s last EP, Runaway Train Of Thought.  The production and the chorus make this song pretty addictive.  Sutter Kain on the beat so you know it’s of the highest quality.

McNastee has another EP slated to drop on August 28th:  Pity Party Rockers So check that out!

M-Dot – Layer Cake (2012)

Artist: M-Dot

Album: Layer Cake

Source: Artist


01. Intro
02. B-Sting (Produced By JoniZ)
03. 123 Flow (Produced By Kore)
04. Taggant Ft. Mayhem of EMS (Produced By Confidence & M-Credible) Cuts By DJ Family Tyz & DJ ToneDeff Cutz
05. The Difference (Produced By Soulslicers)
06. You Ain’t Ready Ft. Nutso (Produced By MidiFlash)
07. True Lies (Remix) Ft. Camp Lo & Tribeca (Produced By LP2)
08. Worldwide Ft. Armageddon (Produced By DJ Brans) Cuts By DJ Djaz
09. We Are (Produced By Onederkid)
10. Woke Up Ft. Mayhem of EMS (Produced By DJ LP2)
11. Interlude
12. The Doors Ft. EMS (Rev, Mayhem) & Olivia Pierson (Produced By LX Beats)
13. Unfukwitable (Produced By Sutter Kain)
14. Let it Out (Produced By DJ Connect)
15. El Mariachi Ft. Chaundon, Cymarshall Law & Daily Planet (Produced By Reef Ali) Cuts By DJ Grazzhoppa
16. Nothing To Fool With Ft. Hell Rell of Dipset & JTronius (Produced By FRZ)
17. Heavy Ft. Big Shug & Benefit of EMS (Produced By Norman Cratez) Cuts By DJ Reel Drama
18. Numerical Ft. Rev of EMS (Produced By Misanthropist)
19. Circulate Ft. Dominique Larue & Boycott Blues (Produced By DWill)
20. Wall Flowers (Produced By MidiFlash)
21. Think Twice (Remix) (Intro By DJ Premier) Ft. Av’Rex, Big Shug, Singapore Kane & Krumb Snatcha (Produced By DJ Brans) Cuts By DJ Djaz
22. Xmas Broke Ft. Rev of EMS (Produced By Norman Cratez)
23. Backstabbers (Produced By Gajos)


Our reigning champ, M-Dot, shot this project over to me many moons ago, while he has been galavanting around Europe on tour with the likes of that group you may have heard of,…Slaughterhouse.  Unfortunately it has taken me this long to get to do a write up on the project.  Really, Layer Cake, is a collection of guest spots, features, and rarities that M-Dot has put out or been a part of in the last 12 months.  While it isn’t an album, there are plenty of dope tracks collected together worth talking about.

Continue reading

Donnie Darko – Life Vol. 1

Artist: Donnie Darko

Album: Life Vol. 1

Source: Never So Deep


1. The Day After
2. Won’t Stop (ft. Ancient Alienz)
3. D.m.t. (ft. Sutter Kain)
4. Life
5. Appreciation
6. Brutality (ft. Ancient Alienz)
7. Altered Beast


Emotion and energy epitomize what Never So Deep is all about and there is not better ambassador for NSD then Donnie Darko.  He rhymes with such raw emotion and intensity that you can not help but feel those words he is spitting.  He channels his angst and creates fire over Sutter Kain production.

What can you expect from a Donnie Darko release?   The man is relentless, driven, and brash.  He throws caution to the wind several times throughout Life Vol.1.  He could care less about his detractors.  He’s talented, he knows that, and he’s going to let you know that, time and time again.  You know this from the jump with the track, The Day After.

…they ain’t believe, I’m coming back with a vengeance / New flow, yeah,  I really dare to be different / Shot after shot, no time to be sippin’ / Rap need life, and I’m the heart it’s been missin’ / Listen, it’s a whole new lane, new ball game / Real recognize real and you all lame / You can have the Roset, it ain’t strong enough / I need 1800, I’m going to pour it up

He spits bars of this variety with well paced fury over the hard hitting drums of Sutter Kain’s production throughout the track.

Won’t Stop is another banger in which Darko tandems with his label mates, Ancient Alienz.  This beat feels like vintage Sutter Kain.  The sample is well chosen and polished to perfection and when paired with the horns, it provides the perfect atmosphere for the emcees to shine.  But it’s Darko who sines brightest:

Never said I’m a boss, I’m my own man / Team NSD, I rep my own brand / Ancient Alienz, Jugganot and Osirus / The livest are the weakest, strong moving in silence / So I never talk unless spoken to / Man, I killed the mic and murdered the booth

Probably the most innovative production I have heard in a while comes from the Sutter Kain produced Altered Beast.  It features a sample from the popular video game from the 90s that goes by the same name.  Now, this is something I wouldn’t encourage other producers to do.  You have to be maticulous and on point to pull off something like this or else it could border on corny.  Luckily, Sutter Kain is both of those things.  He refines the sound until all you can here is dopeness.  Darko takes complete advantage of this by taking on all comers with a ‘put your money where your mouth is’ mentality.

Donnie Darko’s Life Vol 1, is not for sensitive ears, nor for the faint of heart.  But neither is any of NSD’s material.  Darko rocks mics with the heart of a champion and complete disregard for those who doubt him. He could care less about the commentary of critics and whatever else is going on in the industry.  He is making music for himself and his peers, intent on breaking down the barriers to success.  Life Vol. 1 is the musical embodiment of that idea.  Middle fingers in the air if you disagree…

Single You Out: Donnie Darko – Appreciation

There is so much heat coming out of the NSD camp these days!  But this may be one of my favorite Donnie Darko tracks.  This is the pace of track that he sounds the best on it.  You can also hear his passion for hip hop on this joint. Sutter Kain is a Top 5 producer in my opinion.  On Appreciation he finds another ill sample and adds the boom bap.  Great song…


Single You Out: Sutter Kain – Winter Music Part 4 (ft. Mr. Grimm and Donnie Darko)

I am fully on board with the Never So Deep movement.  Sutter Kain (DJ Bless) and Donnie Darko have done so much to impress me over the last six or so months.  I know that I am late on this, but it’s better to be late to the party than never to have arrived at all.

As usual, Sutter Kain, laces a banging beat.  The keys in production remind me of an organ that the Phantom of the Opera would be playing.  The emcees all sledgehammer the track (means hitting it hard).  Really dope music coming from this camp so stay tuned…