I used to try and feature five songs/projects/artists a day and that’s not possible anymore.  First, let’s not kid ourselves, there simply is not that much dope dropping on a daily basis. I am not interested in being first to post a song.  I am interested in featuring the best of the best.  Secondly, this has always been a labor of love, and time is the most valuable commodity we all have.

So going forward I will host ten features from the week’s music every Saturday and Sunday.  I will not post during the week unless there is an absolute compulsion to do so.  I hope to provide the best reviews possible and focus my time and meager talent on those who truly deserve it.

With this new structure, I hope to better serve the Hip Hop Community and the artists that supply us with such great music.

You can email me your music submissions HERE


The main aim of this site is to promote independent hip hop artists and music and showcase some of the talent that is out there.   You will find the following:

  1. Reviews of hip hop releases both current and past that I find to be noteworthy and heads and tails above the rest.
  2. Singles from artists that have been filtered from the deluge of different online resources. I will NOT feature everything from everyone.  It defeats the purpose.
  3. I will highlight a certain artist’s discography from time to time to showcase that individual’s deserving body of work.
  4. Videos that are eye catching and have artistic merit will also make it on the website.

The bottom line is that this site will be dedicated to finding the music that differentiates itself from the rest of the pack to both give the artist greater exposure to a wider audience and in turn give the wider audience something that merits listening.


7 thoughts on “About

  1. Hi Hip Hop Dependency,

    I hope you’re doing well, my company does marketing for Moe Green–I saw you recently posted his video for Top Turnbuckle Lifestyle. Please get in contact with me if you’d like to receive additional mp3s, videos, and press material from Moe Green and other artists that would be a good match for you. Please feel free to check out our site, http://www.audibletreats.com/download to get a feel for the artists we work with. If you like any of them, I would be be happy to send out a CD.

    We also recently posted these other press releases about Moe that you might be interested in

    Best of luck,
    Mark Martin

  2. Kwalified is 1/3 of Hawaii based hip hop group Ill Hill Society. Originally from San Diego, he now resides in Ewa Beach, HI. Jim Morrison ft. Rukka is a single off of his EP entitled “We Makin Music Doe” dropping on December 18th produced entirely Honolulu based producer, Bad News. This video was filmed and directed at The Workhouse by Joncozy. You can hear more from Kwalified and Ill Hill Society at theillhillsociety.bandcamp.com and Kwalified can be reached on twitter at @KwaliIsILL and Instagram at the same name. Here’s the video. Hope to hear from you soon.

  3. http://soundcloud.com/therappingicon/smoke-mirrors-feat-tol-calvin

    I’ve been slowly gaining attention locally in Houston for my music, and I feel I need to take extra steps towards bigger things. I’d appreciate if you could listen to the track and possibly share it on your site if you like it. It’s studio quality too. Please reply as soon as you read this. I wanna build a connection and we can help each other out. I have a street team/fanbase I can help promote you to.

  4. Lyrical is an up and coming Hip Hop artist out of North New Jersey who incorporates 90’s elements of hip hop with current elements of hip hop to create his own sound. As a result, a polished, unpredictable flow comes to the forefront. The name “Lyrical” was self given because of a choice to use more than simple, more complex rhyme schemes to say clever and prolific things. Lyrical then formed an entrepreneur collective called “Crown Life” to help release his music. With Lyrical’s biggest influences being Biggie, Tupac, Eminem, 50 cent & The Fugees; Lyrical brings you a project called “Do It Better [The Remix-tape]”. The mixtape includes a compilation of Lyrical’s favorite songs remixed. It is up to the listener to decide whether they think in fact, he “Did It Better” hence the mixtape’s title “Do It Better”

    Preview Track- http://thereallyrical.bandcamp.com/track/flava-in-ya-ear-featuring-foursher

    MIXTAPE – http://thereallyrical.bandcamp.com/album/do-it-better-the-remix-tape
    or download link

    Artwork- http://i757.photobucket.com/albums/xx219/lyricaltherapper/DoItBetterFrontCover_zpsece5aea5.jpg

    website- http://ThisIsCrownLife.com

    Social Media

  5. Stefan,

    It’s a damn shame I’m only now just seeing your write up for my 2011 EP release, Rebirth, but damn, you made me want to go buy a copy. Incredible work man. You captured exactly what that project was about. Would def like to build with you about your writing. Hit me up bookarmageddon@gmail.com .


    Armageddon -aka- Geddy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s