Top 50 Songs (2013)

Disclaimer:  It is hard and challenging to pick 50 tracks from the thousands upon thousands that dropped this year.  It is merely an attempt to list my favorite cuts of 2012.  Click the links to listen to the song!  I think it’s a great list.  There were a lot of great songs crafted this year and I know I left off some good ones.  I listened to 5,000+ tracks from 2012 alone this year, so as an artist, if you made this list you know you are on the forefront of my iTunes!

1. Said BeforeGoldini Bagwell

2. Rhyme Of The YearNino Bless

3. BelieversMayday

4. Outlive, Outshine Theo3

5.  WarStryfe and Marc Byrd

Continue reading “Top 50 Songs (2013)”

Illogic & Blockhead – Atlantis Depth (Video)

Illogic & Blockhead drop a video single from their most recent endeavor, Capture the Sun.  The song itself showcases the talent of both producer and emcee.  Up until about half way through the cut, it’s merely Blockhead’s instrumental.  But just over the midway point Illogic drops his eloquent observations giving us the best of both worlds.

…show me the prideful, and I’ll show you an unmarked grave…

Unprecedented Vol. 3 Compilation (July 2012)

It’s been a while since I put one of these together and for that I apologize.  There were quite a few tracks that I heard in July and wanted to put them together for one of these compilations…so without further ado…


1. Animal Pak (Praverb the Wyse x Don Street) – Banger
2. Substantial – Check My Resume
3. Shabaam Sahdeeq x Eddie B x Smoke DZA – Futuristic
4. Illogic x Blockhead – Poster Boy
5. Dub MD x Vandalyzm x Substantial x Kel Spencer x K-Sise – Requiem
6. Cayoz x Ensilence – Retrospect
7. Layne Harper – Medicine Cabinet
8. Veteran Assassins – Paint The Town Red
9. Sciarii x Tableek x Blacastan – Fear No Man
10. Miami Beat Wave x Locos Por Juana x Omniscient x ArtOfficial – Succeed
11.Skrewtape x C-Rayz Walz x Shabaam Sahdeeq – 3 Ring Circus
12. CF – Terminate On Site
13. Serge Severe x Zapata – Hunger Games

Listen Here

Illogic and Blockhead – Preparing For Capture (2012)

Artist: Illogic and Blockhead

Album: Preparing For Capture


1. Matter Of Minutes
2. Poster boy
3. Nails (ft. Rob Sonic)
4. Ego’s Orbit
5. Weigh You Down
6. Caffeine Budge
7. Herstory


Illogic is a veteran emcee known for expanding on the known bounds of hip hop.  On one hand he is a solid emcee who can spit with the best of them and easily move in and out of different constructs and sub-genres. On the other hand, he is a classic poet. He utilizes poetic structure and devices, such as assonance and alliteration heavily in his rhymes.  He is intellectual and conjures vivid imagery with his wordplay.  He also takes normal, everyday emotions and transcends them into a flurry of words and vice versa. He is truly a one of a kind artist.

Continue reading “Illogic and Blockhead – Preparing For Capture (2012)”

Copywrite: God Save The King (2012)

Artist: Copywrite

Album: God Save The King

Source: iTunes


01 Post-Apocalyptic Request Box
02 Love (Feat. Tage Future)
03 Swaggot Killaz (Feat. Jakki Da Motamouth)
04 Sorrow (Feat. Illogic & Don Jaga)
05 Man Made (Feat. Rockness Monstah)
06 J.O.Y (Feat. Jason Rose & Torae)
07 Union Rights (Feat. Mhz)
08 Yo! MTV Raps (Feat. Jason Rose)
09 Blue Ribbon
10 Miracle
11 Gsk
12 Workahol
13 White Democrats (Feat. Mac Lethal)
14 Golden State of Mind (Feat. Casual, Evidence & Roc Marciano)
15 Synesthesia
16 Got to Make it (Feat. Tage Future)
17 A Talk with Jesus


This is my first time ever reviewing one of Copywrite’s releases.  He has made a lot of good music in the past ten years and he has been in a few different places in his life during that time. You can hear that in his music.  His most current station in life seems to have brought him a certain sense of peace of mind.  Copywrite has recently engaged more actively with his Creator and you can see a changed person even though I have never met the man personally.  Through his online interactions, he seems…content.

Continue reading “Copywrite: God Save The King (2012)”