Greater Than – Fine Wine (Video)

I just got done listening to this  Greater Than’s self-titled album, this afternoon.  I thought it was really quite boom-bastic.  For those of you who are not in the know, Greater Than is made up of Seattle artists, Grynch, Fearce Vill, and Grieves.

The first thing I want to make mention of is that Grieves does not rhyme on the album, but produces.  And his chops behind the boards are impressive.  I mean he crafted some delicious rhythms.  I didn’t realize that he could get down like that.

Grinch and and Fearce Vill definitely represent well on the lyrical level as well.   Both lyrically and visually catching bodies over the track Fine Wine.  If you are feeling this joint than undoubtedly you will feel the rest.

Single You Out: TOPE – Family Affair (ft. Grynch x Spac3man)


TOPE is back with a brand new single entitled, Family Affair featuring two of Seattle’s most celebrated MC’s Grynch and Spac3man. Produced by TOPE himself, Family Affair serves as the official first single to his new EP,  TROUBLEMAN, available July 9th. Over a classic drum break and Cheryl Lynn sample, TOPE, Grynch, and Spac3man trade bars about what they do best;  being the life of the party.  Good times all around…

Fatal Lucciauno – Respect (2012)

Artist: Fatal Lucciauno

Album: Respect

Source: Bandcamp


1. Larry Mizzel Jr. (Intro)
2. War
3. Big Bro
4. Gotta Go (ft. Marissa)
5. Interlude To Get her In The Mood
6. Doctor Love (ft. I Am)
7. Black Hoodie Rap (ft. Spac3man)
8. Amazing (ft. J. Pinder)
9. Cocaine (I Cry) (ft. Joe King and I Am)
10. Random Coo Guy
11. Better Than You (ft. Thaddeus David and Grynch)
12. Adolf Hitler
13. Pushin (ft. Parker)
14. Reflection (ft. The Good Sin)
15. I’m Gone (Outro)
16. One Love One Purpose (ft. Lucc and Cease)


In general I think people sleep heavily on the scene in the Pacific North West.  But if the truth be told, that area is a hot bed for up and coming hip hop talent.  Even though, Fatal Lucciauno has been in the game a minute people still may not know who he is but I think this is an album that should get the foot in the door or the music in the headphones as it were..

Continue reading “Fatal Lucciauno – Respect (2012)”

One Be Lo – Laborhood Part 2 (2011)

Artist: One Be Lo

Album: Laborhood Vol. 2

Source: Bandcamp


01. Laborhood 2 Intro
02. Clap feat. RoSpit, T Calmese & Elzhi
03. Chemistry feat. Grynch
04. Panthers feat. JYoung The General, Mae Day & J.A.E.
05. Combat feat. Verbal Kent
06. E.T. Remix
07. Lettin’ Go feat. So Realistic
08. Hooliganry feat. Catch Lungs
09. The Medicine feat. The Planets
10. U Minor, We Major feat. Varsity Squad
11. Weapons feat. Apokalypse, Proof, Ron Dada & Miz Korona
12. Freakin Flo’s feat. Decompoze
13. Thoughts Take Flight feat. Senim Silla & O Type Star
14. All In feat. El Da Sensei
15. Wash Away feat. Lon Won
16. Up All Nite feat. Phatboy Chef


We are only about three days away from One Be Lo’s next official release, L.A.B.O.R.  I already detailed Vol. 1 a couple of weeks ago and this grouping of One Be Lo’s previous works is equally as dope.   When you hear both of these volumes, it gives the listener a true appreciation of how gifted One Be Lo really is.  I really dig the whole thing but I remember when I first heard the joint Chemistry that he did with Grynch and Combat with Verbal Kent.  Those tracks really resonate with me and both outstanding examples of lyricism.

Again, Laborhood Vol. 2 is only $3 and it would be a damn shame if you didn’t own both volumes.  You are getting a grip of dope tracks for less than the cost of one album.  I could do a whole write up on the tracks you hear on this release but I am going to hold off until L.A.B.O.R. drops this coming Tuesday, September 6th.   Be sure you pick that up when the time comes!

Update:  The Laborhood releases are free!  Free up until Sept. 6th and his other releases are only $1.00! Pick them all up!

Grynch – Timeless EP (2011)

Artist: Grynch

Album: Timeless EP

Source: DJ Booth


  1. So Long
  2. Timeless (ft. Jon Hope x La)
  3. All I Wanna Do (ft. Sol)
  4. Out Of Sight, On My Mind
  5. Randy The Ram
  6. Got Ya Numb (D-Sane Remix) (ft.  Wizdom)
  7. My Volvo (Sabzi Remix)


I check for Grynch ever since I heard his first EP, Chemistry.  He’s got an above par flow and seems to work with dope producers.   The Timeless EP is probably his best effort to date and thus it was worth mentioning here.   I like the ‘chemistry’ (no  pun intended) with producer Jester.  Often times when an emcee works with just one producer on a project I find that the beats get stale.  That is not the case with Timeless.  There’s enough variation to make the whole EP very listenable.

If I have to pick standout tracks (which you know I will) I am going to go with  Timeless, Out Of Sight, On My Mind, Randy The Ram.  The vibe on all of these tracks is pretty mellow, but Jester uses different instrumentation to give each song a different vibe.

Timeless features the venerable Jon Hope who is really up there on my list of emcees to blow.   This guy hasn’t even come close to peaking so please watch out! Back on topic, Jester finds a very sonic back drop and then just enhances it with some piano and what sounds like guitar in some places.  I really feel the musical effort on this particular track.  Obviously, the emcees are putting something together that will stand the test of time and they use their verses to discern between the flash-in-the-pan emcees and themselves. Grynch says it s best:

…Look in the mirror, yeah you the flavor of the month / Years from now I’m trying to be a cat they saying they still bump….

Out Of Sight, On My Mind is an ode to the lady in your life that’s not where she should be: In your life.   Jester puts together a very engaging production that is layered in different sound.  He’s got some banging piano chords that drive the track.   Grynch details his feelings for a woman that is not around but he still feels that attachment.  Think of it as a love lost song without the sappiness.  I think most of us can appreciate a track about the one who got away, or went missing as the case may be.

Randy Ram is the joint for those of us who have ever considered  giving up on our dreams.  This is Grynch’s ode to making things happen and pursuing that elusive dream.  The title’s namesake is for Mikey Rourke’s  character in the award winning movie, The Wrestler.  A figure who only knew how to do one thing, and that was to entertain through wrestling.   Grynch isn’t trying to wind up disgraced like Randy The Ram.  He is trying to make moves and plans for his future doing what he loves.

It is a forgone conclusion.  Go download this EP and get acquainted with what Grynch is doing musically.  (Check out any of the links above to DL)  You can also check out his website to see videos and listen to previous releases.