Single You Out: DJ Connect – Up In Sweden (ft. Block McCloud x Reef The Lost Cauze)

DJ Connect from the Elite Fleet, a production crew out of Sweden, released an EP last week entitled, Well Connected, on the Creative Juices label.   Up In Sweden is just one of several bangers off of the EP, featuring a portion of the AOTP in Block McCloud and Reef The Lost Cauze.  The production is simply fire with expert delivery of samples chopped up into the chorus.


Famoso – Before Tha’ Dope Comes (2012)

I wish I had some time to talk about this release, but time is not on my side and I wanted to get this project out so you can all enjoy it.  If you like hard rhymes and beats served NYC style, this is something that you are going to want to check out.  A couple of the songs I had heard before but many of them were new to me.  A lot of great guest shots available on this one as well.

Be on the look out for Famoso’s, Tales From Tha’ Dopeside next month mean while get acquainted!


Single You Out: Famoso x War Bixby x Block McCloud – FTW (Fuck The World)


Some more of that grimy, zoo york, essence.  This time Famoso teams up with War Bixby and Block McCloud to rock over a Will Tell banger.  It’s been a long time since I have heard some production from Will Tell and he hasn’t fallen off at all.  I am not sure where this joint is to be found but you can enjoy it as a single right now.


Single You Out: Block Mccloud & DJ Waxwork – Rainfall (ft. Famoso & Blak Starr)


Single off of Block McCloud’s latest album, Four Walls.  The album is every bit as banging as this song, and God willing I will have an opportunity to review the whole project for you. But for right now I bring you this joint that features McCloud’s charismatic hooks and rhymes with DJ Waxwork’s haunting production.


Genghis Khan – The Broken Love (2012)


Artist: Genghis Khan

Album: The Broken Love

Source: Artist


1. Salvation (feat. Unconscious Rascall)
2. Violence (feat. Thirstin Howl III, Block McCloud, Gutta, Chris Carbene & DJ Waxwork)
3. Enter the Void (feat. Reef The Lost Cauze & Spit Gemz)
4. The Black Lodge (feat. Block McCloud)
5. Baby Boy
6. Sadistic Sphinx (feat. Block McCloud & Virtuoso)
7. Eat Your Motherfucking Heart Out (feat. Unconscious Rascall, Dirt Tha General & Chief Kamachi)
8. Hotel Hyde
9. Lust and Loves Domain
10. This Tainted Impulse
11. Kill the Magic (Remix) (feat. Julia Baburova)
12. She Used To Be Love
13. Fallen (feat. Unconscious Rascall)


Today I bring you something entirely different type of project.  The Broken Love is unlike anything I have reviewed or heard before, which is actually very refreshing.  The first thing that comes to mind when I heard this project for the first time is the word taboo.  I felt like  was reading a blacklisted book that I was told never to touch or like Adam and Eve when they touched the forbidden tree in the  Garden Of Eden.  Is that too melodramatic?  Perhaps. But I want you to understand, in no uncertain terms, how unique this album is.

Continue reading

Single You Out: Genghis Khan – Violence (ft. Thirstin Howl III, Block McCloud, Gutta,Chris Carbene & DJ Waxwork)

I am cheating with this one.   This song was actually released months ago but was just passed on to me so I am treating it as new.  Genghis Khan has a new album dropping in a few weeks entitled , The Broken Love.  This song is exhibit one as to why I think you should be checking for this album.  The bass line, drums, and keys provide the knocking production for all these dope emcees.  Don’t sleep…

Single You Out: Gutta & Nems – War (ft. Block McCloud and Fresh Jones) b/w Tommy Boy (Gutta)

These songs are just nasty!  Nems and Gutta team up for the track War and Tommy Boy is a solo track by Gutta. Nems is just coming off the release of his album, Filthy Fly Shit which has a number of bangers on it and it’s good to hear Gutta again on the mic.  His album, Heads Will Roll dropped three years ago.  It was produced by Blue Sky Black Death and was vastly underrated.  It still is something that I will play from time to time.  His style has a grimy ferocity to it.   These new songs bode well for what is to come.  Both cuts have beats that knock.  Gutta has a new mixtape dropping soon so be on the lookout for that.


Tommy Boy