Single You Out: Gillateen – Be A Hero (prod. By Sultan Mir)


Here’s a dope cut I wanted to share from Gillateen and Sultan Mir’s project, The Wrench: Tighten Up.   I really enjoy the way Mir flipped the Ruelle song, Hero on a hip hop level.   He’s at the top of his game for sure.  Gillateen also sounds razor sharp over this track.  It’s a song about the come-up!  I am sure you will enjoy.

Single You Out: Gary Rue – Dreams (ft. Recognize Ali x Jon Buell x DJ Trickalome)


Gary Rue has announced a new project and if it is anywhere NEAR as good as the last we are all in for something dope!

That being said, this new single really speaks for itself.  It’s got an incredibly raw and intense sound that was laid by much respected producer, Sultan Mir.  Plus you got some pretty tough wordplay alongside Rue with Recognize Ali (not many names hotter than this one right now) and Jon Buell.  DJ Trickalome then add some ill scratches to make this cut standout all the more.

Really excited to hear this project which I was told will be dropping in June.

Single You Out: Gary Rue – Barking At The Moon

Gary Rue

New joint from Gary Rue who came widdit with his latest project, Every Shrink’s Wet Dream.  This new single is definitely on par with where that project left off.  The production from Sultan Mir, with the vocal sample, all the way down to the chorus is really dope and downright impactful.  Gary Rue and guests Aye God and G-Mo Sosa deliver a solid salvo of bars making this track a standout.

Single You Out: Awaxx – Bring It Back (ft. Griff Cowan)

Awaxx, Griff Cowan, and Sultan Mir combine to show their disdain for the current state of commercial hip hop. You get the traditional boom bap flavor with the horns and heavy drums from Sultan Mir, while Awaxx and Cowan showcase their love for hip hop in lyricism.

If I am reading the Bandcamp page right, it looks like Mir and Awaxx have a collaborative album in the works. That should be dope.

Matt Maddox – Righteous Fury (2014)


Artist: Matt Maddox

Album: Righteous Fury (Amazon, iTunes)


1. No Country For Old Men produced by Engineer
2. Interlude produced by Sultan Mir
3. Sick & Tired cuts by TMB produced by Sultan Mir
4. BARbarians ft Godilla, UG & Born Unique produced by Hellzwind
5. Work ft Mina Fedora produced by Skammadix
6. El Mariachi produced by Nemesis
7. The Get Back ft King Magnetic produced by Skammadix
8. Comedy Pt 1 produced by Skammadix
9. Murder Weapons ft Swann Cuts by TMB produced by C Lance (of Jedi Mind Tricks)
10. Spider Man ft Adlib & Reef The Lost Cauze produced by Vanderslice
11. Mjolnir ft Burke the Jurke Cuts by TMB produced by C Lance (of Jedi Mind Tricks)
12. King Killer produced by Sicknature (of Germany’s Snowgoons)
13. Olympus Has Fallen Cuts by TMB produced by Hellzwind
14. Upon A Pale Horse ft Edd Bundy Cuts by TMB produced by the UK’s Edd Bundy
15. Comedy Pt 2 produced by Skammadix
16. A Time To Kill Cuts by TMB produced by Hellzwind
17. Street Art ft Tragedy Khadafi Cuts by TMB produced by Skammadix
18. Reality’s a Bitch produced by Skammadix
19. Show Must Go On produced by Nemesis


Some albums ease a listener into the moment, while others grab you by the throat and demand your attention.  Righteous Fury, the most recent album from Matt Maddox, is going to fall in the latter category.  From the instant you hear the first cut. you are both engaged and threatened by what you hear.   You are threatened because, from the jump, you find out that Maddox is not going to be mincing words and he will name names of those siting on the pedestals.  He has thrown ‘today’s hip hop’ on it’s head and as a listener you can not remove the headphones, you become obligated to listen to this release from start to finish.

Continue reading