L*Roneous x 2Bers – Utopian Blues (2014)


Artist: L*Roneous x 2bers

Album: Utopian Blues


1. Modify
2. Soul Clap
3. Second Sun
4. Wishing Well
5. Small Town
6. Tech
7. Espionage
8. Zombie Fingers
9. Help Me


L*Roneous had told me that he had some new music coming soon and to my pleasant surprise Bandcamp sent me an email a couple of weeks ago that one of my favorites had dropped another project.  This time the project, Utopian Blues, is a collaborative effort between L*ron and 2bers. I was skeptical at first because sometimes these pairings can go terribly wrong.  L*Roneous is a high level emcee and not knowing who 2Bers was left me a little incredulous.  So many times you get a high caliber artist who reaches below his skill level in a collaboration.  That’s really not the case here.  This is more of a blending of strengths rather than a disparity in talent.   It’s actually one of the most melodic releases I have heard in a while.

Continue reading

L*Roneous x 2bers – Second Sun (ft. Def-I) (Video)

I missed big time on this.  L*Roneous and the soulful hip hop group, 2bers dropped this video/song in late January as the lead single to their collaborative project, Utopian Blues.  And as I was prepping my review of their project, I just happened to come across it.  It’s a great song, backed by an exceptionally creative video.  Enjoy and make sure you cop this EP!